**City Commission & CRA Meeting Agendas | CLICK HERE**
*West Palm Beach Celebrates Black History Month | CLICK HERE**
City Hall Closed in Observance of Presidents Day

West Palm Beach City Hall will be closed on Monday, February 19, 2018 in observance of Presidents Day.

Learn More
MANDEL PUBLIC LIBRARY CELEBRATES SQUARE ONE

Square One was created to help young adults who are unemployed and not attending school to reconnect.to economic opportunities and advance their education.

Learn More
Join a Book Club

Friday with the Friends

Join the FRIENDS every month for a lively discussion of selected books. The Second Friday Book Club welcomes everyone and no registration is required! This is a brown-bag book club sponsored by the FRIENDS of the Mandel Public Library of West Palm Beach. Please feel free to bring your lunch! Book chatter begins at 11:30 AM followed by a moderated book discussion at Noon with Mandel Public Library Reference Librarians. For more information, please call 561-868-7701.


Friday, March 9, 2018 from 11:30 AM to 1:00 PM
Third floor, Hibiscus Room –
 Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue
At the intersection of "Americanah" and "The Help" comes a riveting debut novel about two marriages - one immigrant and working class, the other from the top 1% - both chasing their version of the American Dream. In the fall of 2007, Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, lands a job as a chauffeur for Clark Edwards, a senior executive at Lehman Brothers. Their situation only improves when Jende's son Neni is hired as household help. But in the course of their work, Jende and Neni begin to witness infidelities, skirmishes, and family secrets. Then, with the 2008 collapse of Lehman Brothers, a tragedy changes all four lives forever, and the Jongas must decide whether to continue fighting to stay in a recession-ravaged America or give up and return home to Cameroon.


PachinkoFriday, April 13, 2018 from 11:30 AM to 1:00 PM
Third floor, Hibiscus Room
– Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"-- Provided by publisher.